Close this search box.

Pregnancy: Each stage explained

There are so many changes that happen in the body during pregnancy as the baby grows. Find out more about some of the changes.

Pregnancy happens in 3 stages called trimesters:

The first trimester

This is the first 12 weeks of pregnancy or months 1, 2 and 3. This trimester starts on the first day of your last period. Everyone is different and pregnancy is not the same for each person. Many people say they feel bloated, tired, or emotional sometimes. The breasts can start to feel sore, and you may experience nausea and vomiting, also known as morning sickness. Morning sickness is common in the first trimester. If you’re feeling really sick, it’s best to go to the clinic to get help.

The second trimester

This is the next 15 weeks, or months 4, 5 and 6. You might feel healthier and stronger. You’ll probably start to see your stomach and breasts getting bigger and start to feel your baby kicking.

The third trimester

This is the last three months of pregnancy. It starts at week 28. Your baby gets much bigger and turns on his or her head to get ready for delivery. Because your baby is growing so much now, your body has to make room for it. That means sometimes your body might feel sore and very tired.

Important!  Make sure to go to the clinic for every antenatal care visit. This is so the healthcare providers can check up on you and your baby’s health. Remember to ask your healthcare provider anything you’re not sure about.

Find out more about pregnancy in this video by AMAZE:

Are you pregnant and not sure of your HIV status? Click here.

It is important to know about all the organs that make up the female reproductive system when you are pregnant. Click here to learn more.

Want to learn more about what options you have when you are pregnant? Read this article.

Share Article: